Skip to content

First Steps ~ Guest Blogger Mahalia Levey

May 28, 2010

If anyone  would’ve asked me where I saw myself heading, I doubt I would’ve said I’d be a published author. I’ve always had this love for piecing words together, almost like one of those dimensional puzzles you can buy on line. It just amazes me what words can create, be it in story, poem, and song.  

This new journey is by far the second most rewarding in my life; the first is being a mother. I don’t believe in setting limits for success, but in trying your hand at something new and striving to do your best. I don’t do anything half way; it’s all the way for me or not at all.  

I thought when I signed my first contract that I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I had no idea what edits were, hell I had no idea if I was even doing things right.  I came from writing for fun on a forum with no technique to— jumping in blindly. I found my way to a few great learning places. AWH was the first, and then I invested in some writing classes on line. Through those classes I learned how to focus my voice and tighten up my writing. I do strongly suggest for new writers to take copy editing classes, plotting classes, and crash revisions. Those three classes made it easier for me when I began writing after taking them. I also have two beta readers and belong to a small critique group. Education is never wasted and a second or third set of eyes, or people who know what you’re trying to say are a blessing. They’re also a blessing not to be taken for granted, since most have their own lives and are writers themselves. Promoting is time consuming, but getting out there and meeting people is a great aspect of publishing. I enjoy people almost as I enjoy books, so it’s been good for me. It’s been a little under a year since I began this new venture. My first book released May 11th at Phaze. Seeing my book up and for purchase really hit me, the reality that I’d achieved the first step of many. My advice for new or aspiring writers is to dig in and try, because you’ll never know until you do. 

Thanks, 

Hales 

Places to be found  

  

www.mahalialevey.com
http://quackersandtease.blogspot.com/  

http://novelsisterhood.blogspot.com/ 

www.hales3000.multiply.com  

 

About Mahalia Levey:

Being smart and sassy with a great sense of humor comes easily for Mahalia Levey. An avid reader of books, she found herself enchanted with disappearing completely into the worlds authors created. One day she vowed to herself she’d be one of them. Then family life came, and college right after. Swayed from her childhood course of action, it took many years for her to get back to that place she held dear as a child. Now she is running full steam ahead to keep up with the many ideas flowing freely. She plans on taking her work to higher levels and expanding her genres. Her main focus is giving her readers variety. Her works in progress include paranormal, fantasy and mainstream romance. Taking characters and watching them grow past what she’s imagined is her true passion.   

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 8:36 am

    Thank you Adrina for having me! I’m very much enjoying the first steps of this new dream. 🙂

    ~Hales

  2. May 28, 2010 8:37 am

    I hate my (a) key. Adriana please excuse the typo and the difficult key.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      May 28, 2010 8:42 am

      Good morning, so glad you’ve joined me for the day. Typo forgiven – my “o” key does the same! Your book looks terrific (I peeked at your excerpt lol)

      Adriana

  3. May 28, 2010 9:13 am

    Sweet it was fun to write. I’m working on McCalls story now. Phoenix is one annoying man lol! His title is tentative but for now it’s Release Me.

    Dang keys on keyboards lol! Thanks

    🙂

  4. hotcha1 permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:33 pm

    HI ALL! WELL GOSH DARN I NEED A GIFT CARD! LOL

  5. hotcha1 permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:34 pm

    AND HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY TO YA’LL!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention First Steps ~ Guest Blogger Mahalia Levey « Adriana Kraft -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

