Skip to content

Letting Go

August 1, 2010

It’s really hard to say goodbye! We’ve known this person for half a decade – laughed at her antics, thrilled to her triumphs, cried with her tender moments and agonized over whether she’d ever open herself up to true love. She always seemed so focused on everyone else, eager to help them embrace life and find a soul mate. Sometimes she seemed so wise about these things it was hard to believe she’d never fallen in love – but each time a relationship ended, it was easy to see why: she’s famous for pulling a disappearing act instead of hanging around for the heartfelt goodbye.

So now, nearly five years since she first came to life on our pages, Meg Keenan’s saga is ending, and hubby and I, who write together under the pen name Adriana Kraft, have to say goodbye to her! I’ll miss her, that’s for sure. When I finish the galley edits on her final episode (which I should be working on instead of writing this blog!) it’ll be the last time I plunge myself into her moment to find the precise word for what she’s feeling, or scan her surroundings to let the reader know what she’s seeing, or look into the eyes of her latest flame and try to get his (or her) grief on the page as Meg exits stage left. 

 

Meg’s Folly, Book #5 in the Meghan’s Playhouse series, will be released in print and e-book at Whiskey Creek Press Torrid on August 15. We’re thrilled with the cover we just received from artist Kendra Egert, who’s created so many fabulous covers for us. We’re excited for readers to finally see Meg find happiness of her own! Here’s a peek at what’s in store for her:

BLURB

When Meghan Keenan’s old flame Josh Hendricks unexpectedly shows up at the Summer Shakespeare Festival where she has a leading role, Meg has a brilliant inspiration: he’ll be perfect for Camila, the hot Latina who currently shares Meg’s bed. If Meg’s scheme works, she can continue to enjoy sexy escapades with both of them.

Josh has a different idea. He’s come to the Festival with one goal in mind: to marry Meg. Will Camila buy into the plan and help him spark Meg’s jealousy? Can Josh escape this tempting triangle unscathed? And if he does, can he claim his would-be bride before she flees in panic?

Here’s an excerpt from the opening scene:

 

 “My bed is already crowded.” Meg Keenan gave Josh Hendricks, her longtime friend and sometimes lover, a smile certain to perk his interest. That he’d arrived at the Sumer Shakespeare Festival wasn’t exactly a surprise—even though he wasn’t directing his contemporary comedy, he had written it. But it would’ve been good of him to let her know he was coming out. Last she’d heard, he was still ensconced in a theater guild in London. If she’d known, she might’ve planned a surprise or two. Meg always enjoyed surprising Josh. She inhaled sharply. Maybe she did have a surprise for him.

“I wouldn’t expect otherwise,” Josh said, his mouth widening into a grin. “I can’t remember you ever being without at least one partner. How many this time? What gender or genders?”

“I’ll always make room for you, Josh.” Meg sighed and squeezed Josh’s knee. They sat on the grass in the Green Show area where she’d been rehearsing a routine. Spying Josh leaning against a shade tree waiting for her had seemed quite natural. “It feels like you’ve hardly been away.”

“It’s been nearly eighteen months,” he said, taking her hand in his. “You could do better with e-mail.” Josh chuckled. “I was pleased to hear you had the lead here for the summer. Josette and Zach send their love. She tells me she’s trying to get you to join her theater workshop as a full partner. That’s quite the opportunity.”

“I know.” Meg winced. “I’m not sure I want to. That much responsibility might tie me down too much.”

Josh’s eyes sparkled. “When I was your pirate on the cruise ship, you didn’t mind being tied down.”

She dug her fingernails into his palm. “That was different. I wanted you to ravish me, and you didn’t disappoint. God, can you believe it, I’m nearly thirty and I still don’t know what I want to do with my life.”

Josh arched an eyebrow. “You could marry me and have a bunch of kids.”

Meg laughed easily. “I’m not joking. I like my life the way it is. I’ve been able to work on and off Broadway, Vegas, cruise ships, and summer theater like this. Yet,” she drew in a deep breath, “sometimes I feel like I’m just flitting about.”

“Spreading your good cheer,” Josh quipped. “I suppose you still revel in being matchmaker.”

“Of course. That’s my calling.” Meg flashed an eyebrow. “Maybe it’s your turn. You show up out of the blue, and I have just the girl for you.”

“No way.” Blood drained from Josh’s face.

“Why didn’t I think of this sooner? Camila was born for you.” Meg hurried on, ignoring Josh’s protest. “She’s a UCLA grad student doing a summer internship here. I rented her a room in the big old house I’ve leased for the summer. You and she have so much in common. Her goal is directing, but she’s a playwright and an actress.”

“I’m not interested.”

“She’s gorgeous. Her roots go back to the Spaniards who settled much of California. Camila is about a half a foot taller than I am with a body made for loving.”

“So she shares your bed.”

Meg smirked at Josh’s suddenly husky tone. He wasn’t totally disinterested. “Of course she does. I wouldn’t hook you up with someone I haven’t tried out. You’ll find her to be a lot of fun and very passionate. She often cries out in Spanish when she comes. I’ve threatened to get a Spanish/English dictionary.”

“I’m quite fluent in Spanish,” Josh volunteered, raking a hand through his dark brown hair.

“A perfect match,” Meg cooed. “You’ll love Camila. And if you and she become a couple, I’ll still be able to party with the two of you now and then.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 10:13 am

    It’s hard to see characters go but the great thing is she will always be in those books and you can visit her whenever you like! Congrats on the amazing cover and another book in the series.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      August 1, 2010 6:49 pm

      Thanks, Kissa! Agree, she’ll always be available in the books and we can visit – hmm. Wonder if she and Josh will have a joint role in any future books getting other couples together! Could happen…

  2. JOYE permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:27 pm

    Will you still be writing and developing new characters?
    Will be sad to see her go but we can always re-read her amntics.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      August 1, 2010 6:51 pm

      Oh my yes, lots of new characters in our minds and already getting onto new pages. That’s the up side of being an author – no end to the possibilities!

  3. Cynthya P permalink
    August 4, 2010 12:39 am

    Wow, great excerpt–what fun possibilities! It’s nice to see Meg get some happiness. And I agree that the cover is perfect.

  4. Debby permalink
    August 6, 2010 6:26 am

    IT is so hard to say good bye. They become close friends.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Letting Go « Adriana Kraft -- Topsy.com
  2. Where DO You Get Those Ideas? « Adriana Kraft

Leave a Reply

