Skip to content

Feathers and Crystals and Rabbits, Oh My!

February 18, 2011

Mardi Gras is still two weeks away, but I’m thinking ahead to Easter Baskets, one of my favorite things. Bright colorful baskets filled with marshmallow peeps, chocolate rabbits, curly blades of grass, fluffy yellow ducklings and other things fuliguline. What, you say, not a word you know? Me neither, but evidently fuliguline refers to sea ducks such as plovers, coots and eiders. And Eiderdown is definitely fluffy – the best source for feather pillows and down comforters. As a writer of erotic romance, I’m all for comfort! Um. Actually, my favorite rabbit is purple, and I’m guessing no one will dare put it in my Easter basket, though my hubby is just impish enough to try. One year when no kids were home he left these beautiful crystal balls hidden at the bottom of the basket!

Speaking of whom, hubby is definitely not someone who bloviates. Another word you didn’t recognize? Think about Sinclair Lewis’s character Babbitt, or maybe T.S. Eliot’s Prufrock or even some famous lines from Shakespeare, oft quoted by my mother: “a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.” To bloviate is to engage in pompous discourse – to prattle on forever, full of self importance over nothing more momentous than the “taking of a toast and tea.” My hubby, who is half of the pen name Adriana Kraft, does not mince words. If anything, he truncates, condenses, collapses and packs as much as he can into as few words as possible. Definitely a positive trait! Me? I tend to be the opposite – and he says my most annoying trait is to walk into a room already talking to him, without looking to see if I might be interrupting something. On the other hand, somebody has to break the silence!

Hmm, I may have revealed something about me that isn’t strictly true, can you guess what it is? Leave a comment below – I’ll be back later this weekend to tell you what it is. Any correct guesses will be entered in a special drawing for a $6.00 gift certificate at All Romance E-Books!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 10:44 pm

    Pretty good! Heh. I’ll have to think about this for a bit. I’ll be back!

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      February 18, 2011 10:57 pm

      ooo, hope it gets the fantasies going LOL! It’s dangerous giving an erotic romance author cues like these…

  2. February 18, 2011 11:18 pm

    Umm, the part about you loving Easter Baskets? 😀 That’s my completely uneducated guess. lol

  3. February 19, 2011 5:10 am

    Crusading on by. Now following.

  4. projectfraeya permalink
    February 19, 2011 6:25 am

    I have no idea what the lie is. Hello to a fellow crusader 🙂

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      February 19, 2011 8:00 am

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by – golly, have I stumped everyone? Kewl!

  5. onceupona permalink
    February 19, 2011 12:04 pm

    Hullo Crusader! I am going to guess that you don’t really love purple rabbits… it’s hard to guess these things though isn’t it? We are just guessing! By the way I subscribed to your blog and am commenting as ‘onceupona’ because that is my WordPress blog but I write at http://conch-to-be.blogspot.com/ and that is how you’ll find me on Rachael’s list! Cheers! Danette

  6. adrianakraft permalink*
    February 19, 2011 12:21 pm

    Thanks, Danette – oh, this is so much fun! Of course I can’t tell you yet if you’re right or wrong – contest lasts till next Friday, Febraury 25!

  7. February 19, 2011 12:55 pm

    Hi there- what fun! I’m going to guess the lie is the purple rabbit.

  8. February 19, 2011 1:12 pm

    Great post! I’m stumped! 😀

  9. February 19, 2011 2:47 pm

    Very nice. Well done. I can totally tell you write romance (hee, hee).

    I’m gonna guess the lie is your husband is not part of your pen name, which is a weird guess coming from me since my husband’s name is part of my pen name as well.

  10. February 19, 2011 2:50 pm

    Hmm I too think it’s the purple rabbit or the peeps can’t decide so I’ll go with the purple rabbit.

  11. February 19, 2011 3:01 pm

    Hi, Fellow Crusader! Visiting everyone’s Challenge posts today. 🙂

    I’m guessing that your husband’s name really isn’t part of your pen name. You’ve made it hard!

  12. adrianakraft permalink*
    February 19, 2011 3:40 pm

    MMmm, this is getting curiouser and curiouser (Didn’t Alice say that? I’m hoping she did…) Check out the home page of my website for info on my pen name, I don’t mind clearing up that bit of confusion – but so far, no one is even close to the lie!!! Lovin’ it!

    You have until midnight Friday February 25 – if no one guesses correctly, I’ll take the answer that’s closest. You can by TWO books at All Romance Ebooks with a $6.00 gift certificate!

  13. February 19, 2011 4:25 pm

    Tough one to crack! I can tell you really enjoy writing your genre! I’m going to guess that your husband didn’t leave you the crystal balls, but no idea really. Any of it sounds like it could be true!

  14. Zan Marie permalink
    February 19, 2011 5:51 pm

    Oh, the rabbit is pink! Bad guess? Probably, but I’ve done so many of these today. ; ) Hi, fellow cruader(s). I’m guessing you’re doing this together.

  15. Lucia permalink
    February 19, 2011 7:00 pm

    This is so hard! It isn’t as if we can use a lie detector… So…. there are a lot of things that CAN be a lie, but my guess is, is that the lie is: ,,One year when no kids were home he left these beautiful crystal balls hidden at the bottom of the basket!” Although it was nice of him to do that if it isn’t the lie 😛

    • Lucia permalink
      February 19, 2011 7:10 pm

      Oops, I see now that this is part of something to do with Crusaders.. I’m not part of that, I just can’t stand questions I don’t know the answer to, so when I read this, I had to know what the lie is 😛

      • adrianakraft permalink*
        February 19, 2011 10:53 pm

        Thanks, Lucia – it probably felt weird to drop in on this blog without knowing about the Crusade! We were challenged to write something about ourselves and weave in some random strange words, as well as a lie – it’s been a lot of fun! You can find links to more crusader challenge posts here: http://rachaelharrie.blogspot.com/

  16. February 20, 2011 2:38 pm

    Fellow crusader and new follower here! Ooh, this is good – no idea of the lie, fun challenge.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      February 20, 2011 3:02 pm

      Thanks, Margo – what a lot of fun entries! I’m only half way through them.

  17. February 20, 2011 7:36 pm

    Great job with the challenge fellow crusader. I’m a follower now. 🙂

  18. February 20, 2011 9:58 pm

    Hey crusader! I’m going to guess you’re not thinking ahead to Easter baskets. No? Yes? And my husband accuses me of trying to talk to him through walls. It may be true, but shouldn’t he be able to hear me? Fun blog you have here.

  19. February 21, 2011 12:09 am

    My guess is the purple rabbit. Great post!

  20. February 21, 2011 12:53 am

    Maybe the lie is that your husband isn’t talkative?
    Cool blog, purple rabbit and all! 🙂

  21. February 21, 2011 1:01 pm

    Hi there – I’m guessing it’s the bit about coming into the room talking and interrupting.

  22. February 21, 2011 3:55 pm

    Hi. Well written! I’m guessing the part about your husband being half of your pen name is the lie because if he is the man you say he is, he would have done some slashing with that blade.

  23. February 21, 2011 3:57 pm

    Ha! I take that back. I should have read the “About”

  24. adrianakraft permalink*
    February 21, 2011 10:56 pm

    Great comments, all, and some neat guesses – one of the fun things about this Platform Building Crusade is meeting so many new people and realizing you might not have a clue about what’s really me! But at the very least I’m sure you can tell I’m pretty playful – I do believe in having a good time!

  25. February 22, 2011 1:15 am

    Ooh! I love new words! Thanks for adding to my vocabulary! Great to meet a fellow Crusader, too! Have a great week!

    ♥.•*¨ Elizabeth ¨*•.♥

  26. February 22, 2011 2:22 am

    I think I will go with Easter baskets being one of your favorite things as the lie. ☺

  27. February 22, 2011 4:47 pm

    Very entertaining entry. Although I like the purple rabbits, I would have to say maybe you actually prefer a different color.

  28. February 22, 2011 5:49 pm

    Ooh, I’m going to have to say the purple rabbit. Everything seem truthful.

    Great job!

  29. February 23, 2011 6:15 am

    I’d say either your husband doesn’t write with you or your favourite rabbit isn’t purple.

  30. February 23, 2011 11:08 am

    Hello fellow crusader! I am a tad bit late, so I just thought I would just say Hi! 😀

  31. February 25, 2011 9:33 am

    Hmm, I’m going with that your talkative. 🙂 Great Challenge! Everything seems so truthful and could be in the post.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Feathers and Crystals and Rabbits, Oh My! « Adriana Kraft -- Topsy.com
  2. To Tell The Truth « Adriana Kraft

Leave a Reply

