Skip to content

Play On!

March 11, 2011

Sometimes you just have to play. It’s been a very long winter and I keep thinking any day now it will feel like spring. A couple mornings ago we had another four inches of new snow. I shoveled the porches off before heading out to work – for the first time all winter, it was a wet heavy snow. The next thought that crossed my mind? Perfect snow for rolling a snowman. We’ve had snow on the ground for more than three months but never a snowman snow – temps have ranged from twenty above to twenty below. You can’t roll fluff!

If I’d left myself any time before work that morning, I would have made myself one, right then and there, silly or not. No time yesterday either – it’s my late night at work. But today? I work half a day on Friday, and today the sun is shining, the air temp is forty degrees, and the newest four inches is again perfect for rolling – at least, down as far as the ice crust it rests on.

So I couldn’t resist, and here’s proof. They say Baby Boomers are proving sixty is the new fifty – how about the new five, or seven? BTW the eyes and ragged smile are made out of remnants of last fall’s oak leaves, stuck on with small patches of wet snow.

Here’s hoping he doesn’t last long!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 9:09 pm

    There is ALWAYS a time for play. I love your snowman. He’s pretty cute.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 11, 2011 9:17 pm

      Thanks, Kari Marie – I’m kinda partial to him myself. It stayed pretty warm the rest of the afternoon, so he’s listing already.

  2. March 12, 2011 9:28 am

    We didn’t have any wet snow this year, although the kids always attempt to build a snowman.

    I think *fingers crossed* that our snow is finally done for this winter. The buds are on the trees and the daylilies are peeking out of the ground.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 12, 2011 11:21 am

      MMmm, I like the sound of that. Still too much snow cover here. Today, a cold blustery north wind – my poor snowman has been scoured to near-starvation-size and is leaning precariously. I was hoping he’d melt first!

  3. March 12, 2011 7:43 pm

    We had about 8 inches total for the winter. Last winter we had 80 inches. These things even out, thank goodness. I’m so glad you had fun. In the last dark days of winter, right before spring we need to have some fun! Cute snowman.

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 13, 2011 9:58 pm

      Eight to Eighty?? That’s a huge difference! I’ve lost count of our total this year – no records broken, but it seems like a lot and it’s been on the ground three and a half months. Nothing for it but to play!

  4. March 13, 2011 6:32 pm

    I hope the snow melts for you and you get some wonderful sunshine and great weather. I am going to seek out the sunshine next week on vacation. I have to borrow some of Florida’s sun…lol

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 13, 2011 9:59 pm

      Have a wonderful vacation, Regina! We’re expecting a string of days in the forties here so I think my little guy is going to melt this week, if he doesn’t fall down first. Very precarious (and skinny) at the moment!

  5. March 19, 2011 7:35 am

    That’s such a cute snowman! We don’t have snow where I live, I wish we did when I see photos like that.

    Hugs,

    Rach

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 19, 2011 4:36 pm

      Thanks, Rach – he didn’t last long. By Monday night he’d blown over and was three lumps, and Thursday evening all the snow was gone, no sign of him. Friday morning the first robins arrived. I hope they’re right!

  6. Ashley A permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:54 am

    I think your snowman was really cute 🙂 I wish I would have taken the time to play in the snow, but we didnt get snowman snow until a couple of weeks ago and by the next day it had all melted and now our yard is a big old mud puddle lol…but heck, the robins and other birds are certainly happy because the rain make the night crawlers come out!

    • adrianakraft permalink*
      March 21, 2011 9:26 pm

      Night Crawler! Sure sign of spring – haven’t seen them yet, but I’m sure robins are scouting them out. The snowman’s yard is mud, too, by now, no trace of him at all. The next “play” I engage in will probably be playing in the dirt with my bulbs and flowers – soon, I hope!

Leave a Reply

